The majority of DWI charges are filed as misdemeanors. However, certain DWI cases can be filed as felonies. If you’ve found yourself arrested for DWI and it was found that the additional charges were included of having a child passenger under 15 years old, you need to call an experienced, trained, and skilled Texas DWI Defense Attorney. The Law Offices of Carl David Ceder will fight for you every step of the way. You are going to need a proven and experienced criminal lawyer at your side in court in order to have the best representation possible.
A misdemanor offense of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) can result in very serious criminal and civil penalties. If you are charged with DWI with a minor or child passenger in your car, the repercussions can be even more detrimental. This can be considered a form of child endangerment, and could possibly result in the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services removing the child from your custody.The criminal charge of DWI with a Child Passenger carries with it life changing consequences such as:
Driving While Intoxicated with a Child Passenger – Section 49.045 of the Texas Penal Code – An individual can be charged with this offense if they are driving while intoxicated and they have a passenger in their car who is younger than 15 years old. This offense is punishable as a state jail felony criminal offense.
Penalties for DWI With Child Passenger
Penalties for a DWI with a Passenger is codified in Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code, which stipulates the statutory penalties for a DWI offense with a child passenger. An individual who has been charged with this offense could face a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 180 days up to two years and/or a fine up to $10,000.
Additional punishments for a conviction could include any of the following:
- Installation of an ignition interlock device;
- Community service up to 1,000 hours for a felony offense;
- Probation or community supervision;
- Completion of an approved alcohol or drug education course;
- Requirements to attend an approved alcohol or drug education program;
- DWI school or repeat offender DWI school;
- Court costs;
- and/or Any additional fees required by the court.
- These penalties can vary depending on the alleged offender’s alcohol concentration level, whether the offender has previously been charged with a criminal DWI offense, and whether the alleged offender is considered a habitual offender.
The Law Offices of Carl David Ceder can assist you if you have been charged with DWI with Child Passenger. Carl and his staff know fully well how having a felony conviction in Texas can be devastating and it can be nearly impossible to care for your family, especially without a driver’s license. An experienced and trained Texas DWI with a Child Passenger Attorney will use any and all legal avenues available in order to defend your case. Carl David Ceder will fight for your rights and your driving privileges, as well as work hard so you will not spend any amount of time in jail.
You can contact The Law Offices of Carl David Ceder at anytime for assistance at 214.702.CARL(2275) or at 469.2000.DWI(394). You can also e-mail Carl directly, at Carl@CederLaw.com; or to the office for general inquiries at Info@DFWDefenders.com. Phones should be answered 24 hours a day/7 days a week for immediate and prompt assistance. E-mail messages will try to be responded to with 24-48 hours, depending on whether Carl and his team is in trial and/or is busy working on a case for a contested hearing.